lessons learned – Nov 2009

Matt and I have talked about whether I’ll ride again. Probably yes. I love riding but I’m taking a break. For now, my bike is totalled and I won’t buy another one until all the medical claims and costs are paid. And then income taxes in April…we will owe $$ like we always do.

Thanks Obama for the huge $60.00 tax cut!  Now I can buy a new bike! until you take the “temporary” tax cut back in April anyway, then I’ll have to sell my $60 bike.

Matt is going to try to sell his, as I was the only person he rode with and he rode rarely. His 2005 Dyna Wide Glide (same year as mine) has 6,400 miles on it. My bike had 28,500 miles. Combined with my previous bike, I had ridden over 43,000+ miles.

My advice for bikers is this:

1. Stay on good speaking terms with God. Each time you get on your bike, ask Him to watch over you and keep His hands of protection on you and your fellow bikers.

2. Don’t ever forget to tell your loved ones, every day, you love them.

3. Wear a full face helmet, if at all possible. I never had worn one because I hate the feeling of claustrophobia they bring. I had my “half helmet” on that day, with a Plexiglas face shield. But when I begin riding again, I will wear one. My head and face suffered the most damage. Who knows if a full face helmet would have protected me or not?

4. Wear good protective gear. I had on my sturdy Harley jacket that did wonders for my arms and chest and back. Had some road rash on my stomach, but it was where the jacket had come up when I slid, apparently. The most sturdy protective gear you can get is a good investment. i wish I had put my chaps on that day, my legs wouldn’t have been as beaten up.

5. Keep your emergency contact information on your person AND in BOTH of your saddlebags. The police looked in only one of my saddle bags but it was the other one where my purse, cell phone, my ICE info and all my ID was. They never found it, Matt got it later. They did find in the one saddlebag, an emergency contact list I had put there 2 years ago, with Matt’s cell number and that’s how they called him when I was en route to the hospital. If you keep ID in only one place, glue a note in the other one to tell them to look on the other side too. otherwise they don’t know to check both sides.

6. Enjoy your ride. Scan the road for deer and other dangers, stay alert and be aware of everything around you.  In my case, my view of the deer was blocked by traffic, I never saw it before, during or after the accident. So there was nothing I could have done differently. Still, sometimes you can spot a dangerous situation and get out of it. But remember to enjoy riding, if you spend all your time worrying, there’s no point in riding.

One thing I still have is all the wonderful memories I have of riding….I will never forget those rides…loved every minute.

About tichick

Personal and Political Thoughts
This entry was posted in my story - Titanium chick. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to lessons learned – Nov 2009

  1. Jean says:

    Great advice!
    Keeping you in my prayers,
    Jean

Leave a Reply

